The Storyteller Reports: A Diamond In The Rough… And A Great Big Rant

It’s that time of the week again. Hang on tight.

Rant of the Week: Another Reality Star Gets A Big Book Deal

It’s news like this that makes me very glad I’m an indie writer. I have just recieved word that Bethenny Frankel, an actress from the reality show Real Housewives of New York, gets to write three fiction books for Touchstone Fireside.

It seems we have learned nothing from Snooki’s literary reign of terror. If the publishing industry has learned anything, seemingly, it is this: if you bash in the brains of your customer once, then doing it again will make your customer even more docile and willing to give you money.

Frankel hasn’t disappointed so far. The title of her first novel blew me away. Skinny Dipping. Such a skillful display of subtlety and literary intent I have not seen in years. The level of thinking behind this title was also astounding. She tied it in with her line of food products, clothing and skin care called Skinnygirl. Deep allusions, there.

No matter how enticing this may seem to you, however, please do not purchase this novel. We don’t want to encourage this sort of behavior, do we? Seriously. Frankel won’t write anything that we haven’t already seen before. USA Today quoted her as saying, “It’s about a girl’s journey and what she wants, and trying to have it all. It’s about the lessons and the people along the way, about naysayers and rising above.”

I think I’d rather edit my book, thank you very much.

Storyteller of the Week:

James Tallett!

Say hello to James Tallett. This isn’t the first time he’s been on this blog. I reviewed his first book a while back: Tarranau.  It’s a diamond in the rough, and that’s why James is our Storyteller of the Week.

The Four Part Land has clearly been in the works for a while. One of the big pluses in Tarranau is exploring the interesting countries that Tallett has put up. I won’t spoil much for you. But Tarranau does a fair bit of exploring in the cities he visits. He gets told plenty of things, too. I wish I had more time to to tell you more, but as an English undergrad at Benedictine College, I don’t have time to do anything more than promise wonderful things.

Is Tallett a great writer? Not yet. As I explain in his writing, he has too many words and too many details. But here and there, I can tell there’s a good sense of rhythm in those words. That tells me that with time, Tallett could only get better. Considering the scope of his world and his plot (there’s six more Four Part Land books upcoming), this could be something huge.

I’ll be keeping an eye on this storyteller. I humbly urge you to do the same. His official website is lots of fun to peruse.

***

Thanks for reading! Do you mind if I invite you to a contest? I’m giving a $10 Amazon gift card to one random winner who votes for their favorite cover for Die By The Sword, a short story coming September 15th. Go to this post if you want in.

What Do You Think?

