Twitter: A Novel In The Making

I used to think Twitter was stupid. Then I thought it was a hub for great links and one-liners. And then came a couple of conversations that blew me away.

Here’s the first one.

“Fireworks are beautiful. Bright, untamed, dangerous… I wish my soul looked like one of those things. #imnotjokingaround

stinginthetail Sheila NomNomDePlume

@TheKingdomBooks fireworks don’t last – souls are eternal”

Wow. When I read that tweet, I had to sit back in my chair for a minute. I had to do some thinking. It’s one of the most unexpected and profound things I’ve ever read in my life. Period.

Could you take some time to check out Sheila’s amazing blog?

Moving on, that same day a college friend went after one of my tweets in a thought-provoking exchange…

TheKingdomBooks Sean Matthew McGuire

“So I was thinking. What would it take to make you travel far away from your home, on a job that might kill you? #question #motivation #life

CrazyColinKelly Colin Kelly

@TheKingdomBooks Well, coercian for the good, reward for the apathetic, and miscief for the evil. #ThinkLikeAVillian

@CrazyColinKelly Couldn’t a good man choose, too? And would an apathetic man care about reward?”

@TheKingdomBooks if you want to give a good man a choice, then Duty. I’d rather not afford him that choice as he can change his mind.”

@CrazyColinKelly But is a good man truly good if he does not have a choice?”

@TheKingdomBooks you have a choice to not be good? What happens when you aren’t? Isnt being evil more of a choice? #thinkvillian

@CrazyColinKelly OF COURSE YOU HAVE A CHOICE!!! WHERE DO YOU THINK STORIES CAME FROM IN THE FIRST PLACE?!”

@CrazyColinKelly And evil is only more of a choice when the chooser does not understand good. Like when it’s hollow and tied to a culture.”

@TheKingdomBooks Dude, playing devils advocate here. But my point is that it’s really easy to be complacent, not Good. And usually (cont)”

@TheKingdomBooks (cont) when we hear about the ability to choose, its for the ability to choose evil. We could play puppets, but we (cont)”

@TheKingdomBooks (cont) have been given the ability of Free Will, Puppets naturally choose Good, Free will allows Evil choices #ThinkVillian

@TheKingdomBooks Let’s say someone knows and understands Good and Evil and procedes to do an evil act in free will Did they not choose evil?”

@CrazyColinKelly Yes. But they can choose good just as freely. It is therefore foolish to say evil is “more” of a choice.”

@CrazyColinKelly And Puppets cannot naturally choose good, because by their nature they cannot choose anything.”

It never hit me until then about the power of Twitter. It puts a funny feeling in my gut. We are part of a living novel, day in and day out. We’re having conversations like this. I’ve interacted with writers in Stockholm, London, and all over the U.S.A. After centuries of isolation, the nations of the world keep growing closer together.

Have you ever thought about the age you’re living in? How might someone write about your times, two centuries from now? Can you imagine the post you’re reading right now as part of some exciting new technology that pushes civilization forward?

If that’s not a story worth reading, I don’t know what is.

One thought on “Twitter: A Novel In The Making

  1. I think enjoying Twitter is all about the People you follow. Why, Just the other day, I was turned into a pig by @The1WitchCirce, and had to run around oinking and squeelling while Jedi Padawan @MoxTreeb tried to figure out what happened (thanks to @Mizzele for lending him a copy of the Odessy; Apparently Homer isn’t part of Jedi Training)

    I actually got into Twitter because I’m very involved with the Online Audio Drama Podcasting company Pendant Productions as an Actor, part-time writer, and now a Director. The community of this company is very much a social media community, (as we are completely online, we’ve got people in Australia, Britain, Japan, and America working together). We’ve all become good friends over the years, to a point that we can discuss things, talk about our days, show interesting facts, and help when needed, OVER TWITTER. That’s just how awesome these people are; we can do that in 140 characters or less…

    I think that is what coming together is really all about, people from everywhere bringing their talents to create something. and the results… are amazing.

    oh, and I’ve never had a conversation with Yoda before, until I joined twitter #truestory.

What Do You Think?

